Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Meï-lyne's blog
9 octobre 2011

The literary summary about Frankenstein

Volume 1 Chapter 4 by Mary Sheller ( 1818 )

 

Paragraph 1 - 2 :

 

On a " dreary night " ( l.1) of November. Frankenstein describe : " my candle  was nearly burnt out " and " by the glimmer of the half-extinguished light " ( l.2-3 ) provides a gothic atmosphere. Then he continued with his emotions : " How can I describe my emotions at this catastrophe " ( l.5), " I had selected his features as beautiful " (l.3) he is surprising and at the same time disgusted by the creature who created.

 

Paragraph 3 :

 

In this paragraph Frankenstein don't  know what to do, he is very disappointed. He was tow years to finished his invention : " I had deprived myself of the rest and health " (l.13)  but he pervates the text with " horror " and " disgust ". After, he rushed out of the room and continued a long time traversing his bed-chamber for sleep his mind.

 

Paragraph 4 :

 

Before the lassitude succeeded to the tumult. Then  " I threw myself on the bed in my clothes " (l.18-19) and he can't sleep because " I was disturbed by the wildest dreams " and " I started from my sleep with horror " (l.20) ; the creature comes to him and he tries to talk to him.

 

Paragraph 5 :

 

Finally, Frankenstein does not  accept him creature ! So, " I escaped and rushed downstairs. I took refuge in the courtoyard belonging to the house which I inhabitued " (l.27-28). During that night the inner turmoil of the narrator accelerates the pace of the narrative because  he becomes nervousness " walking up and down in the greatest agitation " (l.30-31) and ends with " I had so miserably given life " (l.32).

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Meï-lyne's blog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité